Destination Egypt


While you’re in the country’s capital, be sure to visit the following attractions:

Great Pyramid of Giza

great-pyramid-of-gizaThis is the oldest and largest of three pyra­mids in the Giza complex. It borders El Giza. The Great Pyramid is one of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World, and is the only structure that has remained intact over the years. The Great Pyramid has three chambers. The lowest chamber was cut into the bedrock, which served as the chamber’s foundation and was left unfin­ished. The Queen’s and King’s Chamber are the second layer of this structure. Lastly, the upper layer is made of buildings that used to include two mortuary temples to honour Khufu, Egypt’s second pharaoh of the fourth dynasty, three smaller pyramids for Khufu’s wives, a ”satellite” pyramid, a raised causeway to join the two temples, and small mastaba tombs. (Mastaba means “house for eternity” or “eternal house.”)

Great Sphinx of Giza

This is a national symbol for ancient and modern Egypt. The sphinx is carved from the Giza plateau’s great-sphinx-of-gizabedrock. If you look at it carefully, you’ll see that it looks like a lion’s body. The head looks like that of a king or god. The sphinx symbolizes wisdom and strength. Visitors would be pleased to note that the sphinx has been recently restored. You can find the Great Sphinx at the Nile River’s west tip, located near Cairo. While visiting, let yourself be amazed by the many temples that surround the sphinx. Some of these temples contain multiple sphinxes.


Egyptian Museum of Antiquities

This is Egypt’s largest museum. It opened in 1902. Visitors will be greeted with 107 halls, huge statues (on the ground floor level), small statues, jewels, Tutankhamon treasures, and mummies (all on the upper level). Interested in photos? The Egyptian Museum of Antiquities has dedicated a sec­tion to photography. And if you like books, periodicals, and other written material, you’ll be able to visit the library. Lastly, the museum dedicates seven sections to treas­ures and monuments in chronological order. See Tutankhamon’s treasures in the first section. All pre-dynasty and Old Kingdom monuments are found in the sec­ond section. The third section presents the first intermediate period and Middle Kingdom monuments. In the fourth, check out the Modern Kingdom monuments. In the fifth section, find all the late period monuments (including those of the Greek and Roman periods). Find coins and papyrus in the sixth section, and sarcopha­gi and scrabs in the last section.egiptian-museum-of-antiquities

PREV1 2 34 ... 6NEXT

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *