A Journey Across Spains’ World Heritage Cities

The Spanish Group of World Heritage Cities is an association of 15 cities that have been awarded the World Heritage Designation by UNESCO with the objective of preserving these cities’ historic and cultural heritage. Spain has the third-highest number of UNESCO World Heritage sites in the world, including the Alhambra in Granada and the Gaudí architecture in Barcelona.

The country will astound you with its many historical facets, rich arts and culture, medieval architecture and a plethora of other attractions.

Alcalá de Henares

Plaza de Cervantes

This was the first city in Spain to be built as the site for a university. Miguel de Cervantes, author of Don Quixote, was born here. Must-visits are the University, the Casa de Cervantes Museum and the Plaza de Cervantes.


Toledo at Sunrise

Toledo’s striking resemblance to Jerusalem makes it a unique setting during Easter Week. Toledo is an amalgamation of three cultures – Arab, Jewish and Christian – all of which have left an extraordinary architectural ensemble here.


Casas Colgadas (Hanging Houses) in Cuenca

Between two rivers lies the city of Cuenca. Its historic center looks out over rocky canyon walls in the heart of the Cuenca Mountains. Admire the cobbled streets and Casas Colgadas (Hanging Houses).

1 23 ... 5NEXT

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Related Posts